UP Nikay Chunav Results 2023 LIVE Coverage: BJP Wins Jhansi Mayor Seat, Maintains Lead In 15; BSP Ahead In One

UP Urban Local Body Election Results 2023 Latest Updates: These Uttar Pradesh ULB polls are significant for BJP, SP, BSP, and other political parties because of the general elections in 2024.

May 13, 2023 - 13:56

The counting of votes cast during the urban local body (ULB) polls in Uttar Pradesh is currently underway. The counting of votes began at 8 am for the ULB polls that were held in two phases on May 4 and May 11. Seventeen mayors and 1,401 corporators will be elected after the results are declared on Saturday. As many as 19 corporators have been elected unopposed. The ULB polls will also elect 198 chairpersons and 5,260 members of nagar palika parishads. For nagar panchayats, the fate of 542 chairpersons and 7,104 members will be decided. In total, there are 83,378 candidates in the fray for as many as 14,522 posts.

The votes are also being counted for bypolls that were held in the Suar assembly seat in Rampur district and Chhanbey (SC) in Mirzapur district on May 10. On both seats, there was a direct contest between the ruling coalition led by the BJP and the opposition Samajwadi Party.

What's Your Reaction?